Artist picture of Big Country

Big Country

13 485 Fans


Look Away Big Country 04:26
Wonderland (Live) Big Country 04:22
In A Big Country Big Country 04:45
Porrohman Big Country 08:12
I Could Be Happy Here Big Country 04:30
Time For Leaving Big Country 05:05
Fields of Fire Big Country 03:23
The Seer Big Country, Kate Bush 05:25
In A Big Country Big Country 03:52
Chance Big Country 04:26

Beliebteste Veröffentlichung

In A Big Country
A Thousand Stars

Beliebte Alben

Ähnliche Künstler*innen


Erscheint auf

Für jede Stimmung


Big Country are a rock band formed in 1981 by Dunfermline's Stuart Adamson, following his departure from the punk/new wave act The Skids. After experimenting with a five-piece line-up, the group became a quartet comprising Adamson, Bruce Watson, Tony Butler and Mark Brzezicki. Scottish folk influences were evident in the band's musical style; through the use of effects and a guitar-playing device called the e-bow, Big Country created a distinctive six-string sound reminiscent of the bagpipes. Touring with the likes of The Jam and U2 helped the band develop a wide and loyal fanbase, and in 1983 they had their first UK top ten single with Fields Of Fire and soon achieved chart success in the US with its follow-up In A Big Country and the accompanying album The Crossing. Although their popularity in America began to wane soon after, Big Country continued to have hits in the UK until the early 1990s. The biggest of these were Chance, the Wonderland EP and Look Away. After being dropped by Phonogram Records in 1991 the band's sales began to fall, although they still retained a strong cult following. Two years after the release of their final studio album, Driving to Damascus, Adamson, who had struggled with depression and alcoholism for some years, took his own life in a hotel room in Honolulu. In 2007 the remaining members reformed for a 25th anniversary tour and released a live album and single Another Country, their first in eleven years. In 2012 Tony Butler retired from the group and was replaced by Simple Minds' bassist Derek Forbes. They released a brand new album titled The Journey in 2013 and departed on a North American tour. In 2015 Derek Forbes left the group but an announcement was made ensuring the band would continue on without him.