Artist picture of Bonny Light Horseman

Bonny Light Horseman

793 fans

Similar artists


For every mood


Composed of singer-songwriter and playwright Anaïs Mitchell, multi-instrumentalist Eric D. Johnson (of Fruit Bats fame), and producer, composer, and arranger Josh Kaufman, Bonny Light Horseman is an American indie folk supergroup formed in 2019. The group’s genesis dates back to the late 2010s, when longtime friends Johnson and Kaufman decided to collaborate on a project to record traditional folk ballads with a contemporary twist. The lineup was completed with the addition of Mitchell, an award-winning musician and Broadway author. Invited by Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon and The National’s Aaron Dessner, they made their debut at the Eaux Claires Festival in 2018 and released an eponymous full-length in 2020. Preceded by the singles “Deep in Love,” “Bonny Light Horseman,” and “Jane Jane,” the LP rose to Number 1 on the Official Americana Albums Chart and received a Grammy nomination for Best Folk Album.