Artist picture of Slick Rick

Slick Rick

35 189 fans

Listen to all of Slick Rick's tracks on Deezer

Artist's top tracks

Street Talkin' Slick Rick, OutKast 03:41
Behind Bars Slick Rick 03:22
Children's Story Slick Rick 03:59
Me & Nas Bring It To Your Hardest Slick Rick, Nas 02:43
Memories Slick Rick 04:07
Hey Young World Slick Rick 04:35
The Ruler's Back Slick Rick 05:35
All Alone (No One To Be With) Slick Rick 04:04
Kill Niggaz Slick Rick 02:50
The Show Slick Rick, Doug E. Fresh 04:26

Most popular release

New releases from Slick Rick on Deezer

Treat Her Like A Prostitute
The Ruler's Back
Children's Story
The Moment I Feared

Popular albums

Most popular albums from Slick Rick

Similar artists

Find artists similar to Slick Rick


Playlists & music by Slick Rick

Featured in

Listen to Slick Rick on Deezer

For every mood


A pivotal figure in the development of hip-hop culture, Slick Rick is a British-born American rapper who is known for his smooth flow and storytelling abilities. He was born Richard Martin Lloyd Walters on January 14, 1965, in Mitcham, South London, England. His family immigrated to the United States when he was young, settling in the Bronx, New York. He began his music career in 1985 as a member of Doug E. Fresh's Get Fresh Crew, garnering praise for his participation in the hit singles "The Show" and "La Di Da Di." After signing with Def Jam Records in 1986, he made his official debut as a solo artist with the album The Great Adventures of Slick Rick, which was released in 1988. Driven by the charting singles "Children's Story," "Hey Young World," and "Teenage Love," the album was both a critical and commercial success, reaching the top of Billboard's R&B/Hip-Hop chart soon after its release. In 1990, Slick Rick was convicted of attempted murder and served a five-year sentence, releasing two albums—The Ruler's Back (1991) and Behind Bars (1994) while still incarcerated. After his release in 1997, he made a triumphant comeback with the chart-topping album The Art of Storytelling (1999), which featured guest verses by Outkast, Raekwon, and Snoop Dogg. Following a series of deportation attempts by the INS, Slick Rick was pardoned by New York governor David Paterson and was finally granted American citizenship in 2016. In 2018, he released the single "Snakes of the World Today" to promote the deluxe edition of his seminal studio debut.