Artist picture of Deacon Blue

Deacon Blue

17 518 fans

Listen to all of Deacon Blue's tracks on Deezer

Artist's top tracks

Dignity Deacon Blue 04:00
Real Gone Kid Deacon Blue 04:05
Chocolate Girl Deacon Blue 03:17
Fergus Sings The Blues Deacon Blue 03:50
Twist and Shout Deacon Blue 03:34
I'll Never Fall in Love Again Deacon Blue 02:46
She'll Understand Deacon Blue 03:41
Wages Day Deacon Blue 03:11
Chocolate Girl Deacon Blue 03:54
Dignity Deacon Blue 04:13

Latest release

New releases from Deacon Blue on Deezer

Peace Will Come

by Deacon Blue


22 fans

Popular albums

Most popular albums from Deacon Blue

Similar artists

Find artists similar to Deacon Blue


Playlists & music by Deacon Blue

Featured in

Listen to Deacon Blue on Deezer


A finely crafted, melodic band, Deacon Blue enjoyed a run of major success through the 1980s which established them at the heart of the new wave of Scottish rock - bracketing them with Wet Wet Wet and Hue and Cry.

Former teacher Ricky Ross put the band together with singer Lorraine McIntosh, whom he subsequently married, and released their acclaimed 1987 debut album 'Raintown', a concept album of sorts about down-trodden life in Glasgow which included the singles 'Dignity', 'Chocolate Girl' and 'Loaded'. It was the follow-up 'When the World Knows Your Name' in 1989, however, which gave them their biggest commercial success, generating their biggest hits 'Fergus Sings the Blues', 'Real Gone Kid' and 'Wages Day'.

While remaining a popular live attraction, sales of subsequent releases declined and the band split up in 1994. They reunited with the album 'Walking Back Home' in 1999 and 'Homesick' in 2001 and still occasionally perform together, while the two founders formed a duo on the side called McIntoshRoss and released an album called 'The Great Lakes' in 2009 as well as two solo offerings that came from Ross in 2002 and 2005. Brand new album 'The Hipsters' was released in 2012 and prompted a 25th anniversary tour and further new material - 'A New House' was released in 2014 followed by 'Believers' in 2016 and 'City of Love' in 2020.