Artist picture of Eels


109 620 fans

Listen to all of Eels's tracks on Deezer

Artist's top tracks

Novocaine For The Soul Eels 03:08
That Look You Give That Guy Eels 04:15
Mr. E's Beautiful Blues Eels 04:18
Flyswatter Eels 03:16
Susan's House Eels 03:43
GOLDY Eels 04:08
Fresh Blood Eels 04:24
Fresh Feeling Eels 03:37
Souljacker Part I Eels 03:14
I Like Birds Eels 02:31

Latest release

New releases from Eels on Deezer


by Eels


295 fans

Popular albums

Most popular albums from Eels

Similar artists

Find artists similar to Eels


Playlists & music by Eels

Featured in

Listen to Eels on Deezer


The son of one of the most renowned quantum physicists of the 20th century, Mark Everett took more interest in his sister's record collection than his father's scientific theories and started obsessively writing songs on the family piano. Releasing two solo albums under the pseudonym E, his breakthrough came when he signed to Stephen Speilberg's newly formed DreamWorks label and founded Eels. Debut album 'Beautiful Freak' (1996) drew comparisons with Beck for its eccentric collision of lo-fi sounds and introspective darkness and produced the UK top ten singles 'Novocaine for the Soul' and 'Susan's House'.

The deeply personal tragedy of his sister's suicide and his mother's battle with cancer shaped follow-up 'Electro-Shock Blues' (1998) into a fragile classic, before third album 'Daisies of the Galaxy' (2000) produced his most renowned single 'Mr E's Beautiful Blues' which featured in the movie 'Road Trip'.

Through transient line-up changes, film soundtracks and the documentary 'Parallel Worlds, Parallel Lives' about his father, Everett continues to create melancholic indie pop chiming with black humour and desperate honesty. 'Souljacker' came in 2001 followed by 'Shootenanny!' in 2003, 'Blinking Lights and Other Revelations' in 2005 and the live album 'Eels With Strings' in 2006. In 2009 they released the first of a trilogy of concept albums, 'Hombre Lobo'. The second, 'End Times' came in 2010 and the third, rounding off the trilogy with 'Tomorrow Morning', was released later that same year.

Later albums 'Wonderful, Glorious' (2013) and 'The Cautionary Tales of Mark Oliver Everett' (2014) paved the way for their 12th record 'The Deconstruction' which was released in 2018. They embarked on a tour of the US and Europe to promote their latest record.