Artist picture of Massa Confusa

Massa Confusa

28 fans

Artist's top tracks

Forget (What We Call Progress Remix) Massa Confusa, What We Call Progress 04:11

For every mood


Massa Confusa is currently a DIY alternative rock / electronic / post-punk project based in Donostia-San Sebastián, Basque Country, Spain; but between 2012 – 2017 was based in Durham / Newcastle, UK and featured bassist and artist Matt O’Brien. They write, record and produce their music, which is available on all major platforms. Between 2013 – 2017 Massa Confusa showcased ‘Massa Confusa Presents’, a monthly organised concert and annual compilation series, which supported an eclectic range of local, DIY and independent artists. In January 2016 they launched their own (primarily digital) record label ‘Clarty Cat’, which is also home to Nerd punk trio Skull Puppies, Miss Danby & The What, Ally’s collaborative solo project ‘Five Pence Game’, and Jack Fallows from Skull Puppies' side project 'Sleepwalk.' In July 2017 Ally moved from Newcastle to Donostia. As a duo they released ‘Guiri EP’ in 2019, but aside from a couple of reunion shows in Newcastle, Ally began to focus on performing solo with sets of samples, live loops, guitar and vocals. Matt continues to perform as Sewer Cops, who released their debut EP Greasy Glistening in 2019. Extending from Ally’s interest in community and collaboration, he makes an annual playlist of independent Basque music, has helped with experimental collective ‘Distopía Mutante’, and has begun showcasing bands as ‘Día Guay’. In 2020 Massa Confusa released ‘Evolve’ EP.