Artist picture of The Comet Is Coming

The Comet Is Coming

7 082 fans

Listen to all of The Comet Is Coming's tracks on Deezer

Artist's top tracks

Summon The Fire The Comet Is Coming 03:55
Neon Baby The Comet Is Coming 03:42
Blood Of The Past The Comet Is Coming, Kae Tempest 08:15
Journey Through the Asteroid Belt The Comet Is Coming 05:33
Space Carnival The Comet Is Coming 03:35
Closing Credits The Comet Is Coming 05:05
LUCID DREAMER The Comet Is Coming 03:29
Transmission The Comet Is Coming 01:43
Birth Of Creation The Comet Is Coming 05:04
PYRAMIDS The Comet Is Coming 04:50

Most popular release

New releases from The Comet Is Coming on Deezer


Popular albums

Most popular albums from The Comet Is Coming

Similar artists

Find artists similar to The Comet Is Coming


Playlists & music by The Comet Is Coming

Featured in

Listen to The Comet Is Coming on Deezer


Describing their sound as "apocalyptic spacefunk", psychedelic electro-jazz improvisors The Comet Is Coming emerged from South London's experimental scene with debut album 'Channel the Spirits' in 2016 and instantly impressed with their melting collision of cosmic, free-form, avant-garde energy. Keyboard player Daniel Leavers aka Danalogue the Conqueror and drummer Maxwell Hallett aka Betamax the Killer originally made chaotic, funky, synth-rock storms together under the name Soccer96, and were playing a gig in 2013 when Sons of Kemet star Shabaka Hutchings showed up and began adding great shrieking blasts of his wailing saxophone to the mix.

United by a love of the orchestral psych-jazz eccentric Sun Ra, the trio threw Afrobeat grooves, analogue sci-fi effects and clattering big beats loops into their frenetic concoction and recorded their first limited edition EP 'Prophecy' in 2015 during a three day party session with friends. 'Channel the Spirits' was an equally wild melting pot of dubby bass and post-bop, Coltrane daydreams, and went on to land them a nomination for the prestigious Mercury Music Prize and heaps of critical acclaim. Another EP titled 'Death to the Planet' followed in 2017, before the band signed to legendary jazz label Impulse! Records and returned in 2019 with second album 'Trust in the Lifeforce of the Deep Mystery', featuring a guest appearance from poet-rapper Kate Tempest.