Artist picture of Spyro Gyra

Spyro Gyra

22 704 fans

Escucha todas las canciones de Spyro Gyra en Deezer

Top canciones del artista

Morning Dance Spyro Gyra 04:16
Three Wishes Spyro Gyra 04:52
Not Unlike That Spyro Gyra 06:12
Freetime Spyro Gyra 06:10
Shaker Song Spyro Gyra 10:16
Catching the Sun Spyro Gyra 04:41
Springtime Laughter Spyro Gyra, Basia 04:51
Sunshine of Your Love Spyro Gyra 04:44
Clubhouse Jam Spyro Gyra 05:16
Morning Dance Spyro Gyra 03:56

Lanzamiento más popular

Nuevos lanzamientos de Spyro Gyra en Deezer

Breakfast At Igor's
You Can Count on Me
Para Ti Latino

Álbumes populares

Los álbumes más populares de Spyro Gyra

Artistas similares

Encuentra artistas similares a Spyro Gyra


Playlists y música de Spyro Gyra

Aparece en

Escucha a Spyro Gyra en Deezer


Jazz fusion band Spyro Gyra – not to be confused with the British folk rock band Spirogyra – was founded in Buffalo, New York in 1974 by saxophonist Jay Beckenstein and keyboardist Jeremy Wall. The other founding members included Jim Kurzdofer (bass), Tom Walsh (drums), Umbopha Emile Latimer (percussion), and Tom Schuman (keyboards). They released their self-titled debut album independently in 1977, signing a deal with Amherst Records, who reissued the album nationally the following year with a different cover. The album featured the single “Shaker Song”, which reached Number 90 on Billboard’s Hot 100 Singles chart. Signing to Infinity/MCA Records, the band released their second album, Morning Dance, in 1979. The album hit Number 11 on the UK Albums chart and Number 27 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart. The title track was released as a single reaching Number 1 on the U.S. Adult Contemporary Singles chart and Number 17 on the UK singles chart. Catching the Sun, their third album, was released in 1980 and proved to be yet another success. After nine more albums on MCA, the band switched to GRP Records for another six albums. They continued to release albums for other labels including Windham Hill and Heads Up before coming back to their first label, Amherst for the albums A Foreign Affair (2011) and Vinyl Tap (2019). Over the years, the band’s line-up has changed with Beckenstein the only member of the band featured on all of their recordings. Founding member Jim Kurzdorfer died in 2011 of cancer.