Artist picture of This Mortal Coil

This Mortal Coil

14 047 fans

Listen to all of This Mortal Coil's tracks on Deezer

Artist's Top Tracks

Song To The Siren This Mortal Coil 03:31
Another Day This Mortal Coil 02:54
Kangaroo This Mortal Coil 03:29
You And Your Sister This Mortal Coil 03:14
Strength Of Strings This Mortal Coil 04:41
Sixteen Days / Gathering Dust This Mortal Coil 09:09
The Last Ray This Mortal Coil 03:35
The Lacemaker This Mortal Coil 04:07
Mr. Somewhere This Mortal Coil 02:53
Fyt This Mortal Coil 04:23

Most popular release

New releases from This Mortal Coil on Deezer

Song To The Siren

Popular albums

Most popular albums from This Mortal Coil

Similar artists

Find artists similar to This Mortal Coil


Playlists & music by This Mortal Coil

Featured in

Listen to This Mortal Coil on Deezer

For every mood


The brainchild of producer and 4AD co-founder Ivo Watts-Russell, music collective This Mortal Coil delivered a critically-acclaimed slew of cover albums marked by their lush, gothic dream pop stylings. Formed by Watts-Russell and John Fryer, the group helped showcase the work of many 4AD-adjacent artists such as Cocteau Twins, Pixies, and Dead Can Dance. They made their official debut in 1983 with the EP Sixteen Days / Gathering Dust, which included the B-side “Song to the Siren,” a Tim Buckley cover featuring Cocteau Twins’ Elizabeth Fraser and Robin Guthrie. The track quickly became an underground hit and paved the way for This Mortal Coil’s studio debut, 1984’s It’ll End in Tears. Propelled by “Song to the Siren” and the band’s rendition of Big Star’s “Holocaust” and “Kangaroo,” the LP peaked at Number 38 on the UK Albums Chart. A second full-length titled Filigree & Shadow followed in 1986, reaching Number 2 on the UK Independent Music chart. Watts-Russell announced This Mortal Coil’s dissolution after 1991’s Blood and continued to release music under the moniker The Hope Blister during the late 90s and early aughts.