Artist picture of GoGo Penguin

GoGo Penguin

32 334 Fans


Badeep GoGo Penguin 06:03
Erased by Sunlight GoGo Penguin 04:35
Raven GoGo Penguin 04:57
Atomised GoGo Penguin 04:23
Window GoGo Penguin 05:21
Ocean In A Drop GoGo Penguin 04:19
Signal In The Noise GoGo Penguin 06:03
Ascent GoGo Penguin 04:41
Lost in Thought GoGo Penguin 03:12
Open GoGo Penguin 04:47

Aktuelle Veröffentlichung

Erased by Sunlight

von GoGo Penguin


147 Fans

Ähnliche Künstler*innen


Für jede Stimmung


Pianist Chris Illingworth, bass player Nick Blacka and drummer Rob Turner have made a splash in jazz circles with their mix of jazzy themes, electronica and rock with their band GoGo Penguin. Formed in Manchester in 2012, GoGo Penguin released an album that year titled Fanfares and followed it in 2014 with v2.0, which made the shortlist for the Mercury Prize competing against albums by Damon Albarn, Young Fathers and Jungle. Signed by Blue Note Records, their 2016 release Man Made Object went to number ten on the Billboard Jazz Albums Chart and reached number 72 on the UK Albums Chart. Their music has been dubbed acoustic electronica but the threesome, who write their tunes together, say they draw equally from rock, jazz, minimalism and games soundtracks: "It's music for the heart, head and feet." In 2017 they toured playing their own original score for the 1982 documentary Koyaanisqatsi and 2018 dates took them from England to Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, Belgium, France and Germany and on to the United States and Canada. They announced a new album, A Humstrum Star, for February 2018, which arrived as scheduled to critical acclaim, reaching number five on the Billboard Jazz Albums Chart. After tiding fans over with a 2019 EP entitled Ocean in a Drop (Music for Film), the band reemerged in 2020 with their self-titled fifth LP, which reached the top 40 in Germany and Switzerland, as well as a live EP entitled Live from Studio 2.