Artist picture of Joy Oladokun

Joy Oladokun

1 628 fans

Listen to all of Joy Oladokun's tracks on Deezer

Artist's Top Tracks

Sweet Symphony Joy Oladokun, Chris Stapleton 03:48
sorry isn't good enough Joy Oladokun 03:07
Purple Haze Joy Oladokun 03:25
Bigger Man Joy Oladokun, Maren Morris 03:06
In Bloom Jon Foreman, Joy Oladokun 03:13
breathe again Joy Oladokun 03:49
Blink Twice Joy Oladokun 03:17
Count On Me Joy Oladokun 03:16
We’re All Gonna Die Joy Oladokun, Noah Kahan 02:59
look up Joy Oladokun 03:33

Latest release

New releases from Joy Oladokun on Deezer

Popular albums

Most popular albums from Joy Oladokun

Similar artists

Find artists similar to Joy Oladokun


Playlists & music by Joy Oladokun

Featured in

Listen to Joy Oladokun on Deezer

For every mood


Born to immigrant parents in Casa Grande, Arizona, Joy Oladokun is a Nigerian-American songwriter whose music combines folk, pop, and R&B traditions with socially-conscious lyrics. Introduced to the songs of Nigerian icons like King Sunny Ade at a young age, she later discovered the contemporary folk-pop of Tracy Chapman, which inspired her to begin playing the guitar at 10 years old. She continued her musical education by performing with the worship team at her church, although she felt alienated by the church's stance on homosexuality. Following a brief relocation to Los Angeles, Joy Oladokun settled in Nashville, Tennessee, where she began making music inspired by her experience as a gay person of color. Her independently-released debut EP, Cathedrals, arrived in 2015, followed one year later by the full-length album Carry Me. Singles like 2017's "No Turning Back," 2018's "Sober," and 2019's "Sunday" followed, the latter of which was inspired by her upbringing in the church as a closeted teenager. Each song steadily increasing public demand for her next album. In Defense of My Own Happiness, (Vol. 1) ultimately appeared in 2020, featuring timely lyrics that examined racism, religion, and queer culture. A critically-acclaimed release, In Defense of My Own Happiness, (Vol. 1) was followed by another string of standalone singles, including 2021's "Jordan" and the Jensen McRae duet "Wish You the Best."