Artist picture of The Damned

The Damned

31 122 fans

Artist's Top Tracks

Love Song The Damned 02:21
Neat Neat Neat The Damned 02:41
Neat Neat Neat The Damned 02:40
New Rose The Damned 02:42
Eloise The Damned 05:08
The Eight Day The Damned 03:46
Anything The Damned 04:41
Anti-Pope The Damned 03:20
Trojans The Damned 04:51
The Shadow Of Love The Damned 03:49

Most popular release

Love Song
Machine Gun Etiquette
I Just Can't Be Happy Today
Melody Lee

Similar Artists


For every mood


Standing shoulder-to-shoulder with The Sex Pistols, The Clash and Siouxsie and the Banshees at the birth of the UK punk rock scene, The Damned helped usher in a new wave of DIY, anti-establishment rock & roll that shook Britain to its core. Fronted by the gothic, Dracula-like splendour of former gravedigger Dave Vanian, the band was originally based around the anarchic cheek of the beret-wearing keyboardist Captain Sensible and the manic energy of drummer Rat Scabies. Signed to legendary independent label Stiff Records, the band are credited with releasing the first ever UK punk single, 'New Rose', and album 'Damned Damned Damned' (1977) and were the genre's first British band to play in America.

As the punk scene quickly burnt itself out, The Damned regrouped and achieved more mainstream success with the albums 'Strawberries' (1982) and 'Phantasmagoria' (1985) and scored a UK number three hit with the single 'Eloise'. The group split in 1988 after a number of line-up changes but, encouraged by bands like Guns N' Roses and The Offspring covering their songs, The Damned reformed in the 1990s. 'Not of This Earth' was released in 1995 as their eighth studio album and the band went back out on tour. With several personnel changes throughout the '90s and '00s, they released their tenth album 'So, Who's Paranoid?' in 2008 with a tour announced for the following year that saw them supporting Motörhead throughout the UK.

With the Wes Orshoski documentary 'The Damned: Don't You Wish That You Were Dead' came a renewed energy for the band with a new generation of music lovers hearing and appreciating their songs. The band celebrated their 40th anniversary in 2016 with a one-off concert at London's Royal Albert Hall and revealed that they were working on new material. 2017 saw the release of 'Evil Spirits', with the singles 'Standing On the Edge of Tomorrow', 'Devil in Disguise', 'Look Left' and 'Procrastination' all being released in 2018.