Artist picture of Philip Glass

Philip Glass

198 317 Fans


Walk to School Philip Glass, Paul Leonard-Morgan 02:10
The Poet Acts Philip Glass 03:43
The Hours Philip Glass 07:47
Glassworks : Glass: Glassworks - Opening Vikingur Olafsson, Philip Glass 07:44
Tales from the Loop Philip Glass, Paul Leonard-Morgan 02:55
Glass: Truman Sleeps Valentina Lisitsa 02:35
Facades Philip Glass 07:20
Light in the Dark Philip Glass, Paul Leonard-Morgan 02:11
Koyaanisqatsi Philip Glass 03:29
Metamorphosis : Two Philip Glass 07:20

Aktuelle Veröffentlichung

Ähnliche Künstler*innen


Für jede Stimmung


Philip Glass is an internationally acclaimed and highly influential American composer noted for a minimalist style who has written concertos, symphonies, operas, chamber music and film scores. Among his most famous scores are for the Academy Award-nominated features 'Kundun' (1997), 'The Hours' (2003) and 'Notes On a Scandal' (2007).

Born in Baltimore to a musical family, he learned to play the flute as a child and later studied at the University of Chicago and the Juilliard School of Music in New York. He won a Fulbright Scholarship in 1964 and spent time in Paris where he worked with theatre troupes and contributed music to stage productions and film soundtracks. He returned to America in 1967 and wrote several works for the concert hall and chamber music artists. His most admired works include 'Music in 12 Parts' (1974), 'Philip Glass: North Star' (1977), 'Einstein On the Beach' (1979), 'Philip Glass: Glassworks' (1982), 'Koyaanisqatsi: Life Out of Balance' (1990) and 'Philip Glass: 'Low' Symphony (from the music of David Bowie and Brian Eno)' (1993). He has also written music for several short films in recent years and performed around the world.